top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaty D-H

The panic attack

A poem - for those who spend time under water, and the one who stays with them.



The water,

I can hear it lapping.

At the edges

Of my mind.

It’s creeping

Across the carpet,

Blurring edges. I’m distracted.


Were you talking?

I can’t listen.

It’s the water. And it’s rising.

On my ankles,

Can’t ignore it.

But I want to.

O I want to.


Now it’s climbing,

Unrelenting.

I can’t bear it. Will it take me?

Round my waist now,

Shallow breathing.

Chest is heaving. Don’t let it take me.


I can’t breathe now,

It’s on my chest now.

Gasping. Gasping.

Will it drown me?

Make it stop please.

Why won’t you help me?

Can’t you see it? Too much water.

Katy.


Now I’m thrashing.

Try to swim I

Try to stop it.

I’m determined.

But it’s slipped in.

Open mouthed sob.

It’s in my eyes.

It’s in my brain.

Katy.


Panic.

Water.

Panic.

Cold.

Panic.

Blind.

Still not breathing. I need breath.

Katy.


Katy.


Katy.


I’m floating.

I’m still here.

Under water. In the deep.

Light still reaches.

Darkest corners.

Shafts distorted. But there’s light.


Katy.


Here’s my breath now.

I can see you.

Hold my hand I’m

Not alone.

Steady me now.

Floating under.

We can stay here. Til it’s time.



bottom of page