top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaty D-H

The little things


Dear friend,


It is a delight to be outside today. I am loving the twisting wind and the snatches of sunshine; listening to the birds sing over the indignant barks of the next door neighbours dog.


God’s latest whisper on my heart has been a gorgeous one. He has been calling me once more to, “anticipate my kindness”. In our dark and ever darkening world, how can we even attempt to cling on to hope? How can we stay the course and not collapse into pretend peace and Instagram fakery? When we see him in the small, when we hold on to his goodness, we remember who he is, and we can keep going.


“Praise awaits you, our God, in Zion... you who answer prayer, to you all people will come.

When we were overwhelmed by our sins, you forgave our transgressions.

Blessed are those who you choose and bring near to live in your courts!


We are filled with the good things of your house,

Of your holy temple.


You answer us with awesome and righteous deeds, God our saviour,

The hope of all the ends of the earth and the farthest seas,

Who formed the mountains by your power having armed yourself with strength,

Who stilled the roaring of the seas, the roaring of their waves,

And the turmoil of the nations.


The whole earth is filled with awe at your wonders;


Where morning dawns, where evening fades,

you call forth songs of joy.”

Psalm 65: 1-8


There is always something to be thankful for. Mindfulness teaches us to slow down and be in the moment, to see and savour, to be grateful. I think this is great. It is so powerful sometimes just to take the time to be aware of the loveliness we have around us. My favourite way to do this is to make lists (as inspired by Anna Voskamp’s book 1000 gifts). Just to notice the good things around me at the time.


Today:

- an abandoned den with monkey tucked up ready for jos’ return from school

- Three pure white magnolia flowers, petals unfurling

- a cocky young blackbird hopping about on the grass, pulling up worm

- sun on my face and the smell of coffee


The thing is about gratitude for the unbeliving world is that they’re not really thanking anyone. It’s like seeing a beautiful painting but assuming it appeared by accident. When we see the power and beauty of Gods wonders around us, we should push further in, to find what it tells us about the artist.


He is unfailingly kind.

I am reminded in my gratitude that God is perfectly kind. That he is already at work in the patterns of creation and the wasteful beauty of the earth around us. He is holding the world together, so surely he can hold me.


In the details, in the small, the places God humbles himself to fit into, he is visible. Regardless of the chaos, I see order in the rhythms he has set in to motion. I see his grace in the things he has given me.


“I came here with nothing. All you have given me.”


It is a lovely conversation to join in with. A prayer of thanks that moves from observation to remembering God’s character. Gratitude is a launchpad into wonder. I want a heart caught up in wonder at his character, at his love.


I love that the psalmist starts by thanking God for who he is to us. The God who answers prayer, who forgives us. The God who gives good things to his children. We stand on the promises first and foremost of who he is, and how much he loves us. He is the God who sees me. The God who loves me enough to give everything he has for me.


“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” James 1:17


Ultimately gratitude is a discipline that leads us into intimacy. As we remember his kindness to us, we write over and over again on our hearts, the story of his love for us. It must be one of the most powerful tools we have to learn romance with our God; to walk hand in hand with him. Gratitude retrains our hearts to see his hand behind every good and perfect gift. It reminds us that we have nothing without him. And then we begin to see in deeper and deeper ways how far this love for us goes. And we can enjoy it!


So in the simplest way today I am saying thank you once again. Thank you for little things which remind me of the big things. Thank you that Jesus you are the one who can bring rhythm in the chaos. Thank you God that as you breathe life into every living thing, you will breathe your life into me. Thank you that no darkness can consume your light. Thank you that I can feel you in the sunshine. Thank you that your resurrection has begun in me.


Katy x

bottom of page